My Interview with Szuyu “Rachel” Su

rachelIt has twice been my privilege and pleasure to present videos of the young Chinese pianist Szuyu “Rachel” Su, in remarkable performances of Prokofiev and Liszt.  At the time, all I knew about Rachel was what I could glean from her YouTube profile, youtube.com/user/yw1935.  Not content with this, I contacted Rachel’s father, Mr. Yuwen Su, who readily agreed to an interview with Rachel, and provided much welcome information about her life and accomplishments to date.

Rachel was born on March 14, 1998, and lives in Tainan City, Taiwan.  She began taking piano lessons at age four, and is currently studying with Ms. Chaoyin Chen, Dean of the Music Department at National Kaohsiung Normal University.  Her first recital took place in May 2008, where in addition to Schumann’s “Arabesque” and Liszt’s “Un Sospiro”, she played this lovely transcription by Balakirev of Glinka’s song, “The Lark”.

Two weeks ago, Rachel took part in a competition in Hong Kong, where among other works, she played the “Tempest” sonata by Beethoven and the Ballade Op. 23 by Chopin.  In the Open Section for pianists 32 years old and younger, (where 1st and 2nd prizes were not awarded) Rachel received the Fifth Prize.  This was a great triumph for an eleven-year-old!  She is looking forward to another competition next June, where she hopes to play Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 1.

I asked Rachel what piece of music is on her piano right now.  It turns out that she is practicing Liszt’s formidable “La Campanella” and the Andante Spianato and Grand Polonaise by Chopin.  Because of the amount of homework she is required to do, she is able to practice piano and violin (a second instrument is required by her school) for only around one hour on school days.  Mr. Su stated that Taiwan’s education system doesn’t nourish musical talent, and that Rachel would do better if she had a special course designed for her.

As Rachel speaks limited English, Mr. Su served as translator for this short interview.

DERRICK:  Hello, Rachel!  Please accept my compliments on the many beautiful videos of your playing that are available on YouTube.  Your repertoire includes composers from Bach to Kevin Kern.  Do you have a favorite composer, or composers?

RACHEL:  I like to listen to Liszt’s compositions, and to play Chopin’s compositions.

DERRICK:  I know you have very little time to spend on YouTube, but do you have any favorite pianists?

RACHEL:  Yes, although I know very few pianists, Lang Lang, Kissin, and Horowitz are my favorites.

DERRICK:  Other than music, what are your favorite subjects in school?

RACHEL:  I like mathematics the best.

DERRICK:  What are your hobbies?  Do you play soccer?

RACHEL:  No, I have never played soccer, but I like to swim.

DERRICK:  May I ask, what is your dream or ambition for your life?

RACHEL:  I dream of being a great pianist, touring worldwide, and sharing my music with people.

DERRICK:  Rachel, it has been a pleasure getting to know you.  I look forward to more examples of your playing, and will follow your career with great interest.

I would like to conclude this short look at a remarkable talent with a beautiful performance of Kevin Kern’s “The Enchanted Garden”.  This was recorded in competition in September 2007 when Rachel was just nine years old.  Although it is a delight to watch someone so young play so well, I encourage you at least once to close your eyes while listening to this piece.  When I close mine, I would never guess that I am listening to a nine-year-old girl.  I just hear an artist.

Thank you, Rachel.

Published in: on October 20, 2009 at 11:50 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://derricksblog.wordpress.com/2009/10/20/my-interview-with-szuyu-rachel-su/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very cool, Derrick!

  2. Thank you very much for sharing this news.

    I think that all music lovers in the world will be very happy to come across Rachel’s outstanding and astounding interpretations.

    Thank you again, from Uruguay,

    Amparo Cabal

  3. She is amazing… Gifted without a doubt… so much maturity inside a small body! how does she do it!

  4. Having been her first interviewer, maybe you already know that Szuyu Rachel Su did upload yesterday twelve videos, including La Campanella as well as Chopin’s Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise, just as you had informed in advance.

    I found them captivating, and thought you would most likely be glad to listen to them and eventually pick out some to show in this wonderful blog.

    Sincerely yours,

    Amparo Cabal

  5. Hi Derrick
    She’s a genius !! Please, tell me where can we find more about Rachel… I didn’t heard anything else about her. Does she have a website? a facebook page? maybe a blog?
    Well, thanks.
    Bye
    Ariel

    • There is a facebook page, but her friend is administrator. Her father has a facebook profile.


Leave a Reply

