Prokofiev: Sonata for Flute and Piano James Galway – Flute;Phillip Moll – Piano

Although Prokofiev composed his Sonata for Flute and Piano in the middle of World War II, it is nevertheless one of his most uninhibitedly joyful compositions.  It was given its premiere in Moscow in December 1943, and was immediately acclaimed as a masterpiece.

Sergei Prokofiev

Sergei Prokofiev

Flutists often borrow from the much larger violinist’s repertoire, but that situation was reversed in this case.  At the request of violinist David Oistrakh, Prokofiev transcribed this sonata for the violin, and it is frequently heard on that instrument.

In this video, the renowned flutist James Galway is joined by pianist Phillip Moll in a recital from Waterfront Hall in Belfast, Ireland.

Published in: on September 30, 2009 at 4:46 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: