Sergei Rachmaninoff: Prelude Op. 23 No. 5 Pianist: Emil Gilels

rachmaninoffAlthough Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 – 1943) was one of the great pianists of the 20th century, and a successful conductor as well, it is primarily as a composer that he is remembered today.  The spiritual descendant of Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff remained aloof from the new modes of expression that characterized 20th century music, and is often referred to as the last composer of the Romantic era.

To conclude our brief look at Rachmaninoff’s music, Emil Gilels (1916 – 1985), another of the 20th century’s great pianists, gives a stirring performance of one of his most romantic works, the Prelude Op. 23 No. 5, which dates from 1901.

Published in: on September 20, 2009 at 7:45 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Absolutely wonderful. Rachmaninoff is my favorite composer – I was closer to heaven while listening. 🙂
    Thank you SO much for doing this. I’m going to use your blog-site to enrich my kids’ homeschooling. Yay!

    • You are so welcome, Candace. Thank you for the great feedback!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: