Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin – Toccata Pianist: Quynh Nguyen

Quynh Nguyen

Quynh Nguyen

Ravel composed Le Tombeau de Couperin between 1914 and 1917 as a suite for solo piano.  Each of its six movements was dedicated to the memory of one of his friends who had been killed in the Great War that we now call World War I.  The Toccata presented here is the final movement, and was dedicated to the memory of Captain Joseph de Marliave, killed shortly after the outbreak of the war.

Although the title translates literally as “The Tomb of Couperin”, Ravel did not intend this music to evoke what one might see or feel upon visiting the tomb of François Couperin (1668-1733), but rather to pay homage to Couperin and to the French Baroque era in which he lived.

Le Tombeau de Couperin was Ravel’s last work for solo piano.  Perhaps it is appropriate to end our brief introduction to his music with the concluding Toccata, here given a dazzling performance by the Vietnamese-American pianist Quynh Nguyen.

Published in: on September 13, 2009 at 6:02 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://derricksblog.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/ravel-le-tombeau-de-couperin-toccata-pianist-quynh-nguyen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: