Alexander Scriabin: Etude Op.42 No.5 Pianist: Irina Morozova

Alexander Scriabin

Alexander Scriabin

Alexander Scriabin (1872 – 1915) was a Russian composer and pianist and a contemporary of Rachmaninoff.  I first became acquainted with his music in high school through the records of Vladimir Horowitz, which fostered in me a love of Scriabin – surely among the most individual composers who ever lived – which continues to this day.

The Etude Op. 42 No. 5, played here by pianist Irina Morozova, is one of my favorite Scriabin pieces.  The tempo marking is “affanato”, which means “breathlessly”.  Truly an extraordinary piece.

Published in: on August 23, 2009 at 7:39 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://derricksblog.wordpress.com/2009/08/23/scriabin-etude-op-42-no-5-irina-morozova/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Indeed this etude is an extraordinary piece of music – and with much scope for making different interpretations of the score. One can learn very much from this piece; parts of it can also be transformed into very effective exercises of all sorts, not least such emphasising the singing with, listening to and experiencing the impact in general of many voices living side by side, at once.

    It will be part of a Scriabin set on my upcoming DVD/CD release, after which I will make public information on some slight changes I have made, and that may be of some benefit also to other pianists.

    Unfortunately, I could not listen to the YouTube video you have linked to, with a performance of this etude, since I strictly avoid listening to others’ interpretations when I am in the process of creating my own.

  2. By the way – about 12-15 years ago, I borrowed a wonderful CD with Sofronitsky performing op. 8 and op. 11 (by Scriabin).

    Later, unfortunately, someone stole the CD from my piano professor at that time, Michal Wesolowski, and I have been unable to order it even from the best of record stores, as I am not in possession of (apparently) the requisite information.

    Does anyone reading this know what album I am talking about and how one might find a copy of it?


Leave a Reply

